Video: Maine-Endwell playing Elmira girls’ soccer

Highlights from the Elmira girls’ soccer team’s 1-0 win against Maine-Endwell on March 25, 2021.

Andrew Legare, Elmira Star-Gazette

Thirteen players on Section 4 girls’ soccer teams have been recognized as the first team in all states by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports for the Spring 2021 season.

The selection was edited by Perry Novak, President and Founder of NYSSCOGS. Four of the five classes in New York had choices for first and second team. Class D contained only a first team.

Unatego Senior Attack Dana Stepp was named the state’s C-Player of the Year.

Other Player of the Year were Syosset striker Avani Brandt in class AA, Islip junior midfielder / striker Madison Micheletti in class A, Carle Place junior striker Leah Iglesias in class B and Mount Academy senior midfielder Fara Kleinsasser in class D.

Trainer of the year was Tom Rogan from Bethlehem and Joseph Marchetta from Syosset in Class AA, Mike Reilly from Islip in Class A, Frank Mancuso from Babylon in Class B, Jerome Canzoneri from Millbrook in Class C and Doug Hammons from Northville in of class D.

More: Section 4 Results of Girls’ Soccer

Class AA

Elmira High senior Ireland Krawczyk, a defender, was the only Section 4 first team selection in Class AA.

Ithaca junior goalie Lila Travers was called up to the second team.

Class a

Maine-Endwell senior striker Emily Hein was elected to the Class A first team.

Vestal midfielder Alexia Michitti has been called up to the second team in Class A.

Class B

Section 4’s first team both played for Oneonta: senior striker Hannah Johnson and senior midfielder Anika Buzzy.

Second-team national honors went to Kerri Hayes, Chenango Valley midfielder, Sydney Coggins, Norwich midfielder, and Gabby Picco, Waverly midfielder.

More: Kevin Stevens’ column flashes back to Gabby Picco’s 2 holes-in-one round at the age of 12

Class C

Five players from Section 4 received awards for the first team in Class C, with two each from Unatego and Delhi.

In addition to Stepp, Unatego’s other selection for the first team was senior goalkeeper Meghan Perry.

Junior goalkeeper Sylvia Liddle and senior midfielder Katie Dean were selected from Delhi.

The selection of the first team from Section 4 was rounded off by senior Newark Valley defender Mackenna Nechwedowich.

Odessa-Montour second striker Hannah Nolan and Unatego senior midfielder Morgan Perry were elected to the class C second team.

Class D.

There were four selections from Section 4 out of the 11 players elected to the Class D first team: Marathon Senior Midfielder Brooke Tillotson, Schenevus Student Attack Angelina Competiello, Franklin Junior Attack Kayla Campbell, and Edmeston Senior – Attack Emma Ough.

Follow Andrew Legare on Twitter: @SGAndrewLegare. You can also reach him at For full access to the latest news, subscribe or activate your digital account today.