Kyle Riviere

| Gonzales weekly citizen

The Division I, All-District 5 team was recently released and, as expected, the Ascension Parish players were prominent.

There were a total of 19 outstanding areas that were named for the first and second teams.

The presence of so many parishioners should come as no surprise. All three Ascension Division I football teams made it to the playoffs last season, and two of those teams made it to the state quarter-finals.

The St. Amant Gators had the best regular season. The Gators finished on a 13-4-2 record and took the district championship.

St. Amant went on to make the postseason as the number 7 in Division I. In the opening round, Slidell’s gators squealed 3-1 in extra time.

In the second round, St. Amant faced tenth brother Martin and scored a hard-fought 3-2 victory to earn his ticket to the quarter-finals.

There the Gators were defeated by the second-occupied Jesuit.

After senior Tyler Bridgewater was named the District Offensive MVP last season, he was named the District 5 Overall MVP of 2021.

His Gator senior Ulrich Gaffney was named Offensive MVP.

St. Amant’s head coach Adrian Garcia had to miss a large part of the season due to COVID-19, which is why assistant coach Collin Yammarino stood in for the Gators. He was named the District Coach of the Year.

The first team for St. Amant also made up senior Josh Barbera, junior Holden David and newcomer Micah Cretini.

The Gators had three second-team selections. They were juniors Colby Forsyth, Aaron Millet and Dillon Staal.

The Dutchtown Griffins also made it to the quarterfinals.

Dutchtown went 12-2-3 during the regular season and was runner-up. This earned the Griffins the number 9 in the playoffs.

In the opening round, Dutchtown hosted a game against Archbishop No. 24, Rummel. The Griffins scored an 8-1 win.

This took them to the second round where they took to the streets and claimed a huge victory over # 8 Sulfur.

That marked the Griffins’ ticket to the state’s quarter-finals for the third season in a row.

There Dutchtown fell out by a narrow margin and lost at home to the top seed and later Catholic national champion 2-1.

The Griffins had seven choices for all districts. Topping the list for Dutchtown was Senior Noah Teaford, who was named the district’s defensive MVP.

The first team for the Griffins were also senior David Hopkins, junior Ayden Rawashdeh and Aiden Remont.

The second team for Dutchtown formed the senior Brock Shadle-Colon, the junior Jaxson Stovall and the second Ethan Shanahan.

East Ascension went postseason at 6-7-3 during the regular season and entered postseason as # 25 seed.

The Spartans took to the streets and faced Sulfur in the opening round. East Ascension led much of the game, but in the end the Spartans fell 3-2 in extra time.

Four East Ascension players made up the all-district team.

Brandon Hogan and Aleks Mondragon formed the first unit. Stephen Kline and Diego Ontiveros made the squad as a second team selection.