Monday, August 16, 2021 | 4:02 pm

The Moe Rosensteel Player of the Year Award honors the best WPIAL girl soccer player, “whose game, leadership and passion for the game are modeled on that of the award’s namesake”.

Kaitlyn “Moe” Rosensteel was a stellar footballer at Ringgold who was about to embark on a college career in West Virginia Wesleyan when she was killed by lightning strikes in Mammoth Park in the summer of 2019.

A foundation was established in her name, along with the Player of the Year award and a scholarship. The Top Player Award has already been given twice and a third player will win it in 2021.

A watchlist was released this week and will be used by a panel of foundation officials, coaches and media members as a guide for player nominations this fall. Nominations will be limited to three finalists and then to Player of the Year.

Previous winners were Ellie Coffield from Mars (2019) and Sarah Schupansky from North Allegheny (2020).

Here is the watch list for 2021:

Eva Blatz, Junior, Bethel Park

Ava Boyd, Senior, Pine-Richland

Ella Bulava, Sophomore, Latrobe

Olivia Cernuto, Junior, Southmoreland

Alyssa Clutter, Sr., Trinity

Sofia DeCerb, Junior, Latrobe

Morgan Einodshofer, Sr., Belle Vernon

Sara Felder, Junior, Greensburg Central Catholic

Natalie Gilbert, senior, Upper St. Clair

Tatum Gretz, Senior, Greensburg Central Catholic

Adelina Guess, senior, Belle Vernon

Gwen Howell, Junior, Mars

Malia Kearns, senior, Penn-Trafford

Kaitlyn Killinger, Junior, Plum

Mary Kate Lape, Elderly, Connellsville

Sydney Lindeman, Junior, Franklin Regional

Hailey Longwell, Sr., Moon

Jillian Marvin, senior, Peters Township

Samantha Miller, junior, butler

Renae Mohrbacher, senior, freedom

Grace Nellas, Junior, Mt. Lebanon

Brooke Opferman, Junior, Peters Township

Sophia Palermo, Junior, North Allegheny

McKenzie Pritts, Junior, Yough

Farrah Reader, Junior, Belle Vernon

Regan Reilly, sophomore, Latrobe

Kelsey Salopek, Senior, Steel Valley

Jayden Sharpless, Senior, Northern Catholic

Ella Shorkey, Junior, Allderdice

Paloma Swankler, Senior, Norwin

Sara Weigle, Junior, Central Valley

Chloe Weiland, senior, butler

Lucia Wells, Junior, North Allegheny

Abby Whaley, Junior, Ringgold

Congratulations to the young women nominated for the Moe Rosensteel Player of the Year 2021 Watch List

We can’t wait to see everyone compete against each other this fall

Further information on the Moe Rosensteel Player of the Year Award can be found at https://t.co/rdYsnj1pJo # moe86 pic.twitter.com/oafwf2qyv4

– Kaitlyn Moe Rosensteel Scholarship Foundation (@MoeRosensteel) August 15, 2021

Bill Beckner Jr. is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Bill by email at bbeckner@triblive.com or on Twitter.