There’s no easy road to a Big North Conference soccer championship.

There are no shortcuts to winning or evading to be recognized as an all-conference player within the league.

As tough as the BNC is in boys’ football, everything is well earned.

It shows up in postseason tournaments and on state-level all-state lists, and those who formed the all-conference teams can pride themselves on being part of an elite group.

The league’s coaches recently selected the annual teams to honor all conference players, with Petoskey again well represented.

Petoskey’s Dylan Aldridge was rewarded with the team’s first ever BNC recognition for a breakout season.

The Northmen recorded six nods for all conferences out of the league, led by two first team selections.

Both Senior Hunter Hicks and Junior Dylan Aldridge earned the first team within the league after Hicks led the league for the second straight year and Aldridge experienced a breakout season.

Hicks finished the BNC game with 35 points for the overall lead and scored 15 goals with five assists. He had 31 goals and 12 assists in total.

Aldridge finished third in the league, finishing with 16 goals and 16 assists in total.

Traverse City West placed six players in the league’s first team, led by Gavin Michael, who ended up just behind Hicks with 34 points.

Central also finished with two in the first team and Ian Busch from Gaylord also received the first team award.


Petoskeys Cam Adams stepped up his game in his junior season and won the second-team BNC award.

In the second team, the juniors JJ Marshall, Marek Beckering and Cam Adams as well as the senior keeper Michael Iverson were recognized.

Iverson received the honor despite injuring himself late in the season and showed the respect he received from opposing coaches and teams.

Marshall, a midfielder, ended the season with 10 goals and six assists and was an all-state player alongside Hicks and Aldridge that season.

Beckering and Adams both shone for Petoskey in the background, helping the Northmen limit their opponents’ chances, while things got quieter for a young goalkeeper as Iverson went down.

Petoskey recorded 10 shutouts over the course of the 2020 season, including three in the postseason to enter a Division 2 regional game.

The complete teams can be found below:

Everest Noyes, TC Central

Josh Hirschenberger, TC West

Parker Waskiewicz, TC Central

Blade Veal, TC West

Marek Beckering, Petoskey

Michael Iverson, Petoskey

Payson Fraser, TC Central

Josiah Krommendyk, TC Central

Hayden Hansen, TC Central

Brendan McRoberts, Cadillac

Follow @DrewKochanny on Twitter